Medieval Willisau lies in the Lucerne countryside at the foot of Mount Napf. The beautiful old town is the centre of Willisau.
The late medieval town of Willisau forms a rectangle about 250 metres long, flanked by the castle hill to the south and the Enziwigger to the north. The ring wall is identical to the rear wall of the houses on the north, east and west sides of the town. It rises up the hill and is only preserved in fragments. Lucerne built the bailiff's castle for the bailiff at the end of the 17th century against the only tower of the town fortifications, the Kutzenturm.
The main street is closed off at the beginning and end by gate towers and is as wide and stately as a square. The small town presents itself today as it was rebuilt after the last town fire in 1704. There are no representative town houses. Nevertheless, the modest houses, harmoniously graded in their storey heights, create a generous impression of the complex as a whole. The three public, heptagonal fountains are a real ornament to the main street.
This also gives the main street the appearance of a self-contained, powerful and festive space. The oldest houses are in the western part on Müligass. They were spared from the last town fire.
Our local guides will tell you many facts and funny anecdotes about Willisau on a public guided tour.
For families, we recommend the Detective Trail, which is a fun way to discover Willisau and the surrounding area.